Ariel: The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid was easily one of my favorite animated movies when I was younger. I loved everything about it. From the princess storyline, her beautiful red hair, and obviously the wonderful prince I was so intrigued by the movie.

Every movie on my blog, I have found I could argue both sides of the spectrum. This movie is a feminist movie because A,B,C and it’s not a feminist movie because of D,E,F. I feel that every movie has feminist qualities even if you have to search for them. Well, I decided to search for the positives for this particular movie.

First, she wants something and goes for it. Ariel dreamed about being a human and she figured a way to do so. Although, she had to make a deal with the devil (basically) it gave her the result she had wanted from the very beginning of the movieSecond, she isn’t perfect. Most Disney princess’ are looked at as that perfect young woman. Well, Ariel has many flaws, but that is OKAY. She is a brat to her father and doesn’t listen to others at times. This gets her in trouble. Lastly, she is an adventurous young woman. Feminists believe a woman should be independent and explore the world. That is what Ariel does.

However,  it is actually kind of crazy how different animated movies can look through the eyes of a feminist. It really shows the power of feminism. This movie I was so obsessed with still has some of the feminist qualities as I stated above, but the reality of it is she is a young woman who gives up her voice to get a pair of legs so that she can snare a man. I have no words. I think this triumphs over those characteristics I stated above.

images

Leave a comment