Rapunzel: Tangled

I keep going back and forth with the movie Tangled whether it is a step in the right direction for feminism in a Disney princess movie. So, what did I do? I wanted to see what my fellow feminists’ are saying.

Well, I’m going to get to the point. I believe that blogger, Whitney, of Not Another Wave, says it best:

“Tangled has small wins!  And when it comes to Disney princess movies, any hint at feminist ideology is a HUGE win. And if nothing else, it at least passes the Bechdel Test”

This whole blog post is going to focus on one small detail that I feel that a lot of people discuss and witness. Why must Rapunzel knocks Flynn out with a frying pan? A frying pan used to cook food.   A frying pan that a woman stays home and cooks and cleans for her family.  Yes, everyone looks at this as an “of course a women has to use a cleaning supply to defend herself, why can’t she use a sword like everyone else in the movie?” Yet, I am going to be an optomist.

One can argue the frying pan gives signifies a form of empowerment within a female. A female can cook, while at the same time knock a guy out, ya know? Post feminism encourages a female to stick to her feminine roots, while at the same time showing her as a badass. I mean it might have been better in the eyes of some feminist for her to pull out a sword, but where would have poor Repunzol got access to a sword?

Oh, another thing while I stick to the aspect of a frying pan: why is Flynn holding this item in the promotional poster for this movie? (I must give credit to the wonderful Matt Ramsey for this)

Tangled_poster

 

This image actually makes me want to laugh. A man holding a frying pan. But, this is sad I want to laugh. A man holding a frying pan should not be funny simply because a woman is associated with the holding of a frying pan.

Ugh. Either way from a feminist POV I do not know exactly how I feel about this damn frying pan.

Leave a comment